Going forward in reverse”

                           – Ozzy Osbourne No More Tears

It isn’t unusual for me to start writing the next novel in my head even as I’m finishing the current project.  What is interesting is that this time I’m writing the novels of a series in reverse.  I’m finishing the first draft of The Day Before and while I have another one planned as the next project my mind is working on a book scheduled for release four books from now.

Maybe It’s the Series.  As a series Dragon Core has always been a bit of an adventure.  

Albeit a fun one.

Old Is New.  It’s a reconceptualizing of a 3-book series I wrote in tenth grade.  Interestingly, I still have those files but never once looked at them when going forward. 

I still haven’t.  I’ll probably just delete them.

The original plan for Dragon Core was to have four novels and though I toyed with the idea of a fifth one as a finale to the series I ended up pivoting when I fell in love with a few of my characters from Cauldron of the Gods.

I’m really happy with how Shadow of the Gods turned out.  It ended up being a great way to shed a bit of light on the history and cultural norms of shape shifters from Chancery Lumina.  

It also provided another opportunity to pivot.

Inspiration.  Redemption gave me a chance to provide insight into the Scathe.

Who are the Shadow and where do they fit in the universe?

It was a lot of fun to write for a number of reasons including a “What if it did happen just not that way?  as part of the premise.  More, it allowed me to draw from a real life experience.

I knew from that day in Diamond Head that I would someday use that experience in a book.  Turns out it will appear in at least two, in multiple series.

Writing Redemption also challenged me in that I had to take a character who was “difficult” in another book in the series and make her likable as a main character.

Two At Once.  There’s an additional twist to this writing in reverse.  It isn’t mentally writing a new story while finishing the current one.  This time I’m writing books 6 and 7 in the series before books 4 and 5 are finished.

And 7 is going to be finished – mentally speaking – before 6.

This is new for me.  I’m guessing it will be difficult not to publish whatever I finish first.  But this would mess up the order of things, so I’ll forebear.  In the meantime, The Day After, a Dragon Core story, will be available in Autumn 2021.

Stay tuned.

Published by

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s